Four current JEA mentors have recently been awarded national recognition.

Casey Nichols, Konnie Krislock and Stan Zoeller were announced as winners of JEA’s Lifetime Achievement Awards.

While serving on JEA’s awards committee Casey Nichols, MJE, had the honor of introducing JEA Lifetime Achievement honorees, and now presumably, someone else will be the one to say wonderful things to say about Casey. He is retiring after teaching journalism and advising at Rocklin, California for 30 years, and serving journalism as contest judge, curriculum developer and, since 2013, as JEA Mentor.

Konnie Krislock has had a long career as journalism teacher and adviser, JEA Mentor and fierce advocate for student free expression. Konnie, who lives in Newport Beach and serves the Southern California area, has been a JEA Mentor since August of 2016.

Stan Zoller, MJE, became a Mentor in 2014 after a long career in journalism and journalism education. Stan has served as on the JEA Board and the Outreach Academy as well as being active in state and regional SPAs and was a champion of the New Voices legislation in Illinois.

More information on these and seven other new Lifetime Achievement Award winners on here on

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association named Julie Satterthwaite, CJE, as one of four Distinguished Advisers. These honored teachers will award $500 scholarships for graduating seniors and subscriptions to courtesy of the publishers of The Wall Street Journal. In addition to her mentoring, Julia is the journalism teacher and adviser at Monta Vista High School in California, and Board Member at Large for JEA. You can learn more about Julie and the award at CSPA’s website.