by Julie Dodd
JEA Mentoring Committee co-chair

Three college faculty members were recognized for their contributions to scholastic journalism during the Association for Education in Journalism and Communications Conference this week in Denver.

Brian Poulter and Sally Renaud of Eastern Illinois University and Jock Lauterer of UNC Chapel Hill were the first and second place winners of the Innovative Outreach to Scholastic Journalism.

Brian and Sally’s program was a one-day photography workshop for students and advisers. At the JEA Mentor Academy last month at Kansas State — and after the judging of the Outreach entries was completed — I learned that Illinois mentor Carol Smith had participated in that workshop.

The Outreach competition was established in 2003 by the AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division to recognize the service accomplishments of faculty and to encourage other colleges to adopt these outreach programs for pre-college journalism students.

Congratulations to Brian, Sally and Jock.

The deadline for entries for next year’s competition is April 1, 2011.

from my iPhone