by Julie Dodd
JEA Mentoring Committee co-chair

Linda Barrington

Congratulations to Linda Barrington and Linda Drake, mentoring program members, for being selected to receive Gold Keys from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.

They are two of the eight who will receive Gold Keys during a special Adviser Awards Luncheon on March 19, at the CSPA convention at Columbia University in New York City.

The Gold Key Award citations state:

“In recognition of the outstanding devotion to the cause of the school press, encouragement to the student editors in their several endeavors, service above and beyond the call of delegated duty, leadership in the field of education, and support of the high ideals from which the Association has drawn its strength and inspiration.”

Linda Barrington is the design adviser for the newspaper at Mount Mary College, Milwaukee, and director of the KEMPA summer workshops.  She is co-chair of the JEA Mentoring Committee. Linda has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from JEA and serves on the JEA board as the liaison between JEA and the National Council of Teachers of English.

Linda Drake

Linda Drake is the jurnalism adviser at Chase County High School, Cottonwood Falls, KS. Linda was in the first group of JEA mentors, who were trained at the JEA/NSPA convention in Philadelphia in 2007. She is JEA secretary and has received JEA’s Teacher Inspiration Award and was JEA’s 2008 Yearbook Adviser of the Year.

Congratulations to both on their CSPA recognition. The mentoring program certainly benefits from their many contributions.