Stan Zoller and Bill Flecthner

Four JEA mentors received the Pioneer Award from the National Scholastic Press Association at the JEA/NSPA convention in Washington, D.C. The recipients are Stan Zoller (on left), Bill Flechtner (on right), and Wayne and Georgia Dunn.

“The Pioneer Award is the highest award NSPA offers to journalism educators. Pioneers are individuals who make substantial contributions to high school publications and journalism programs outside of their primary employment,” according to the NSPA website.

The awards were presented at the Awards Luncheon on Nov. 8.

Thanks to Peggy Gregory for the photo.